All done.

On a regular long-weekend road trip I might start 4 or 5 paintings, but in the past I’ve found that only one or two have successful “bones” and so those were the ones I finished in my studio. In January of this year I took a long weekend trip to Carpinteria. I started 5 paintings and it was the first time I saw good bones in every painting. I finished one of them entirely on location – another first for me. Throughout the year I slowly picked away at the rest, setting some aside and coming back to them later as the inspiration struck. I just finished the 5th and final, and thus it marks the first time that I’ve finished everything I’ve started on one trip.

In the order that they were completed:

 photo Carpenteria1_zpsgsa9wzcm.jpg
“Carpinteria Storm.” Finished on location. 12×9. Sold.

 photo 17a3c217-b65e-4b2c-b14c-787afaa7d410_zpsjqyffcsh.jpg
“A Winter Morning in Carpinteria.” 14×11. Sold.

 photo 25243901415_179c80e808_o_zpssdtizqar.jpg
“Winter on the Carpinteria Bluffs.” 9×12. Available. $250.

 photo IMG_20160416_1102171_zpss7rcxou9.jpg
“Passing Storm.” 12×9. Sold.

 photo IMG_20160801_1149021_zps3dbc5gcf.jpg
“Rincon Beach Storm.” 14×11. Available. $280.

I think it’s time for a return trip to Carpinteria. Right after I finish all those paintings I started in Sedona…

One thought on “All done.

Leave a Reply

